Life is Beautiful

Standard

 

Do you ever look around you and notice all the different things that are alive? I do. Grass, trees, insects, squirrels. birds, my cats… The list goes on and on. Sometimes, when I’m watching all these living creatures, I feel kind of sad for them. (I know, I’m weird). I wonder what it would be like to be a blade of grass. Alive but not aware. No control in my movement or purposeful interaction with my world. That’s sad, isn’t it?  True, grass is just plant life. But what about other animals?

Some of them can do some pretty amazing things. Things we can’t do like fly, and run really fast, and see the dark. They have really good instincts and some are really smart. But you know what they can’t do?

  • They can’t sit with their arms around their love and watch the sunset
  • They can’t laugh out loud at a funny joke
  • They can’t read the newest best seller. Or the Bible.
  • They can’t grab a cup of coffee with the girls.
  • They can’t watch the joy in their child’s eyes when he opens a Christmas present, or a birthday present.
  • They can’t hold their kids or grandkids n their arms

That list could be infinite, couldn’t it?  All the things that make human life beautiful and special and incomparable to others animals. It’s not just opposable thumbs.

Listen. Life is hard. Very few people know that more than me. But you know what else life is? Life is beautiful. It’s a gift. A precious gift from God. The hills, the valleys, the ups, the downs, the wins, the losses, and yes– even the struggles. I know it doesn’t always feel like it, but it is.

What I have learned from traveling the hills and valleys is that we have a choice. We won’t always have a choice in our circumstances, but we will always have a choice in how we respond to them. Life is what we make it. We can choose to wallow in the ugliness. The pain.  The anger. The fear. The whatever. Or, we can choose to focus our eyes on the good things we have and the blessings we have been given. I’ve spent my fair share of time on the wallowing path and it brought me nothing but despair. I’m much happier now that I’ve learned to look past all of that and to fully enjoy the little moments and the beauty that surrounds me.


So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. And God blessed them – Genesis 1:27-28a 


*If you like the t-shirt in the image above you can purchase it in my online store at www.liftedapparelandmore.com and I have many other uplifting designs available.  I donate 10% of all profits to charity (currently the National Alliance on Mental Health -NAMI) so your purchase will not only help me and my family with our financial struggles related to my disability, it will also help others who suffer from mental illness. In addition to your purchase, it would help me tremendously if you would spread the word to your friends and followers about my store! Thank you🙂

I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

