Pants On Fire – Week 3

Standard

I am stupid. I am crazy. I am a pest. That’s the next lie in my lie journal. It’s actually three separate lies I suppose, but I lumped them all together as one. I guess it kind of makes sense that I did that. They all fall under the umbrella of “I am flawed”, so we’ll go with that. Let’s shoot it down, shall we?

  • Psalm 139:14 – I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 
  • Genesis 1:7 – So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.

God doesn’t make junk and he made me. I am wonderfully made by a master craftsman in his own image.I have flaws, but I am not flawed. I am just how he wanted me to  be.

  • Song of Songs 4:7 – You are altogether beautiful, my darling. There is no flaw in you.

Song of Songs is a love story. It’s about Solomon and a woman he loved. It is also symbolic of the love God has for us. So, when Solomon tells the woman he loved that she is altogether beautiful and without flaw, it is meant to tell us that this is how God sees us. In God’s eyes — because of Jesus’ sacrifice– I am altogether beautiful and without flaw.

  •  2 Timothy 1:7 – For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

I have a sound mind. I am not “crazy”. I am hurt, traumatized, bumped and bruised, but I am not crazy.

So there you have it.  Shooting down this lie doesn’t mean I’m saying I’m not flawed. I am. So are you. We all are. Trying to disprove that would be futile because it’s true. What isn’t true, however, is that those flaws make me undesirable or of no good to anyone. God used plenty of, shall we say, “extra flawed” people in the Bible. Honestly, those seem to be his preferred people to use! I read a great blog post about this recently. It includes a long list of people in the Bible that were seemingly unworthy yet God used them for great things. It’s short and an awesome read. You should check it out:

GOD USES FLAWED PEOPLE TO SHARE HOPE TO A FLAWED WORLD

That’s it for me today. Me and my flaws are out of here. As always, if you think of any other scriptures on this topic that you want to share, please do so in the comments.

Later gators. See ya tomorrow.


Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. ~ 1 Peter 5:8


More in this series:

 

3 thoughts on “Pants On Fire – Week 3

I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

