To My Love On Our Anniversary

Standard

Today is our 15th wedding anniversary. Before we were married I told my husband about a billboard I saw with a marriage proposal, and how romantic I thought it was for someone to proclaim their love in such a big way– in such a public forum. Today my post will be my billboard– an open love letter to my husband, proclaiming my love for all the world to see. Happy Anniversary, Honey. I love you.

My Dearest Honey Bunny,

15 years ago today we were standing in a little Wedding Chapel in Tacoma. We exchanged vows surrounded by cheesy fake flowers and the smiles of my children who – apart from one friend and her daughter who served as witnesses — were the only guests in attendance. Afterward, we went back to our apartment and ate a grocery store cake for our reception. It was the best day. The perfect day. I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. I didn’t need a big fancy wedding. I was marrying you! My man, the love of my life. That was all that mattered.

You knew that I was “damaged goods”. That I’d been hurt deeply in my life and that I still struggled sometimes. You loved me anyway. You knew I had six children from two failed, abusive marriages. That’s a lot to take on. Not many men would be up for the challenge but none of it scared you away. You took on the role of father to my children, and even in their teenage years when they were difficult to deal with, your love didn’t falter.

You are my rock. My protector. My helper. My lover. My friend. You are my superhero. With you, I know I am safe. You are a man. A real man. You open car doors for me. You carry in groceries. You would lay down your life for me. I know that. And you save us a lot of money because there is absolutely nothing you don’t know how to fix. You are amazing. I am so thankful for you.

You have been right by my side through all my “crazy” – my depression and anxiety and everything that went along with it. My health problems, too. Life with me has been no bed of roses. I’m so sorry for that. It’s not the life I wanted to give you. I want you to know how much I appreciate all the things you do, and all the things you are. All the times I have called you at work in the middle of a panic attack and you’ve stopped what you’re doing to calm me down.  All the times you’ve worked yourself to the bone to keep us afloat since we lost my income. All the times you’ve put up with my bossiness and grumpiness and everything else-ness.

I know you feel bad that we can’t go do something exciting for our 15th anniversary, but I want you to know that I don’t need that. I will be very happy to cook you a burger and snuggle on the couch. You are what matters to me. Not a fancy trip or a fancy meal. It’s only you Honey Bunny. As long as I have you by my side, it will be the perfect day.

I still love you from the bottom of my heart and always will.

Your Angel,

Lori ))0((

 

Love is patient, love is kind. Love does not envy, is not boastful, is not conceited, does not act improperly, is not selfish, is not provoked, and does not keep a record of wrongs. Love finds no joy in unrighteousness but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

One thought on “To My Love On Our Anniversary

I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

