Eat Fat. Get Thin. Who Knew?

Standard

I’ve struggled with weight all my life. I’ve lost and gained, lost and gained again and again. I’ve gotten close to a healthy weight but I’ve never achieved it. I’ve managed to sabotage my success every time. It was never a conscious decision. Looking back on it now I’m pretty sure I know why I did it. It’s that awful V word– vulnerability.  The more layers of fat I had covering me, the less the real me was exposed . All of that squishy fat was good insulation against the all the things that could hurt me. I felt protected in my fat shell. Now that I am finally healing, for the first time in my life I feel truly ready to shed that shell. I want people to see the real me! 

By January of this year, my weight had skyrocketed to an embarrassing number that I am not yet ready to share. But trust me, it was a lot for my 5’2″ frame. It would have been a lot for a 6 foot frame. My sister decided to join Weight Watchers and suggested we do it together. I had lost weight with Weight Watchers before and decided that, now that my head was in a better place, I would give it a try. 

By the middle of July I had lost 45#. But my weight loss was slowing. I had hit a plateau, losing only 5 pounds total since the beginning of June. So I talked to my doctor and she suggested I try a Ketogenic diet. She said this would not only help me lose weight but also could reverse my pre-diabetic state and the extremely high level of inflammation in my body. 

I took her advice and have been eating “keto” since then, and I’ve lost another 10#.  Without going too far into the science of it (there’s plenty of it out there, if you want to Google it) it’s a high fat/adequate protein/low carb diet. Essentially this puts your body into a state of metabolism called ketosis and your body burns fat instead of glucose for fuel. 

I eat a ratio of about 75% fat/20% protein/5% carbs. I try to keep my total calorie intake to about 1500/day (which is about 500 more than I got on Weight Watchers). That breaks down to about 125 grams of fat, 85 grams of protein, and 25 grams net carbs. 

25 grams of carbs is not a lot. It’s really only enough for the carbs that are in vegetables, and that’s how I usually meet my carb requirement. I’ve had to give up bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, sugar, and even most fruits. As an Italian girl, I didn’t think I could do it. Even on Weight Watchers, carbs made up about 75% of my diet! But surprisingly, I really haven’t missed them as much as I thought I would. Sure, I crave a bowl of pasta or a piece of bread once in a while but it’s nothing so strong I can’t talk myself out of. And if I REALLY want it, occasionally I will eat it and then go right back on keto the next day. It’s all about balance. 

Maybe I don’t miss the carbs so much because I get to eat all the glorious fatty foods that I usually avoid when dieting. Bacon. Cheese. Heavy cream. Butter. A juicy ribeye steak. Salad dressing. Sour cream. You get the picture. I eat things like this: 

Tacos with shells made of cheese

Delicious salad with ham , cheese, egg salad and ranch dressing

Cubed steak with cream gravy., mashed cauliflower, and asparagus

 

It’s still a work in progress and I want to lose at least 50 more pounds. But here’s my before and after so far:

Me at my son’s wedding last October

Me now


It’s so counterintuitive to eat fat to lose weight. It goes against everything we’ve been told about dieting. But it works! Not only for weight loss, either. I have more energy, suffer from less fibromyalgia pain, and I don’t get hungry because of the way ketosis effects the release of hormones and digestion of food. I was skeptical at first but I think I could keep this up the rest of my life. I believe I will reach my goal this time. 

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

– 1 Corinthians 10:31

3 thoughts on “Eat Fat. Get Thin. Who Knew?

I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

