10 Modern Versions of Old Hymns I Love

Standard

Old hymns. There’s nothing like them. They are like the ultimate comfort food for my soul. I don’t know if it’s the memories attached to them, the lyrics, or the melodies that have the power to soothe the deepest parts of me.  I suspect it’s a combination of all of those things. I love all different versions of these old gems. The classics are great, but  it’s nice to hear different interpretations, too. For today’s Music Monday, I’ll share my top ten favorite modern versions. Enjoy!

  1. How Great Thou Art – Carrie Underwood and Vince Gill  – Remember the post I wrote about when I almost died? (If not, you can read it here). Well, one day shortly after I got home from the hospital I was just clicking around on You Tube watching videos. Following the You Tube rabbit trail, I came to a video of Carrie Underwood singing How Great Thou Art.  Within seconds of starting to listen to it I felt the conviction of the Holy Spirit come over me. It was a feeling that’s hard to explain. An intense, overwhelming sense of remorse but at the same time an intense feeling of love and forgiveness that resulted in uncontrollable prolonged sobbing. The experience was not of this world, of that I am certain. Now I don’t get that reaction every time, but I still get the chills when I listen to Carrie sing this song. Talk about anointed. Whew! By the way, I might have listened to it three times while writing this. And I might still have goosebumps.
  2. It is Well With My Soul – Sam Robson –  If you don’t know the story behind this hymn, you need to! (You can read about it here). Job has nothing on the guy who wrote it. What an inspiration to know that this guy could still say “It is well with my soul” even in times of such personal tragedy. This version is by a You Tuber who makes awesome acapella versions of songs by recording all the parts individually and joining them together. It sounds like a whole choir singing! I’m a sucker for this kind of thing.
  3. I Will Sing of My Redeemer – Fernando Ortega –  This is another hymn with a tragic backstory. It was written by a man named Philip Bliss. He wrote other hymns you’d recognize, as well as the music to It is Well with my Soul. Read more about it here. This version is by Fernando Ortega. I love it. His voice is so gentle and soothing. This one really calms me and I often play it to help ground me when I have an anxiety attack.
  4. Old Rugged Cross – Craig Wayne Boyd – This song, along with “In the Garden” hold very special memories of childhood for me.  My grandpa loved these two hymns and whenever I hear them I am instantly transported back in time to when my grandma used to play them on the organ they had in their house and we would sing them together. Happy times. This version is actually a performance on the Voice, but I like it a lot.
  5. In the Garden – Joey+Rory – Speaking of “In the Garden”, I love this version. Sadly Joey passed away from cancer earlier this year. She had such a sweet voice. I’m quite sure she’s singing this song in Heaven now.
  6. Great is Thy Faithfulness – Chris Rice – It’s easy to get lost in the bad stuff of life. I love this hymn because it reminds me of God’s eternal goodness, and well… his faithfulness. This version is one of my favorites. I love Chris Rice’s voice. It’s smooth like buttuh.
  7. ‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus – Casting Crowns – I remember standing next to my mother singing this in church. Bittersweet memories. There’s still a lot of hurt surrounding her. I will have to dig into this more. Much more. But for today lets just talk about the song. It really is so sweet to trust in Jesus, isn’t it? You know what else is sweet? My husband (technically I guess he’s a” who”, not a what). Tears are flowing now because I poked around at painful stuff. He saw me crying and stopped painting the living room to  come give me a hug. I love him.
  8. O Sacred Head now Wounded – Fernando Ortega –  Yup. Fernando Ortega again. He goes with hymns like peanut butter goes with jelly. This hymn is very old – from the middle ages. This version is an orchestral arrangement and it gives me chills. Every. Single. Time.
  9. Holy, Holy, Holy – Hillsong United  – Who doesn’t love Hillsong? I know I do! And this is a really powerful rendition of one of my favorite hymns ever.
  10. Amazing Grace – Celtic Women – Amazing Grace. Bagpipes. Angelic voices. Enough said.
I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

