Crustless Zucchini Cheese Pie

Standard

Good morning, beautiful people! I am in a great mood this morning. I stepped on the scale and I’m down another pound and a half. That’s always a nice way to start the day. I really am loving this ketogenic diet (read more about it here). I thought I would miss carbs way more than I do. I find ways around it. This recipe is one of my favorite examples of that. I was hungry for quiche one night but without a crust, lets face it — quiche would just be scrambled eggs. So I did a little experimenting and found a way to make a “crust” of sorts. The cheese in the mixture makes a nice crispy layer on the outside, and it’s high fat content makes this a perfect keto meal. I made mine vegetarian, but you can personalize this by adding meat or experimenting with different cheeses. Give it a try!

Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup whole milk Ricotta Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Six Cheese Italian Blend, shredded
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese, grated
  • 4 large Eggs
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp Parsley, dried
  • 1 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp Salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper, or to taste
  • 1 medium zucchini, unpeeled and sliced 1/4″ thick
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Instructions:

Place butter in a large cast iron skillet (preferred for crisper crust) or 9″ pie plate and put in cold oven. Set oven to 400 degrees and let pan come up to heat with the oven. Take pan out of the oven when butter is melted, being careful not to let it burn.

In medium bowl, mix all ingredients except the zucchini until thoroughly blended.

Pour into pie plate and spread evenly. Place zucchini rounds evenly around the top, pressing into ricotta mixture slightly.

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes if using cast iron, 30-40 for pie plate or until filling is set and top is golden brown. Let cool slightly before slicing.

Nutrition info for 1/6 of quiche:

304 calories

24 gm fat

5 gm total carbohydrate

1 gm fiber

17 gm protein

 

I welcome your thoughts and input! Please feel free to leave your comments.

